jump to navigation

Max Barry’s Machine Man April 14, 2009

Posted by baldricman in General.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I came across this cool serialised novel by Max Barry on BoingBoing a few weeks ago, called Machine Man. Below is the first chapter (Man I really hope he doesn’t mind me putting this here…)

CHAPTER ONE

One Tuesday afternoon my left leg was severed. It wasn’t as bad as it sounds. Well, it was. It was agonizing. There was a lot of screaming and flopping around and trying to tear my shirt into pieces to stem the bleeding. While I was busy with this, my co-workers stared through two-inch polycarbonate security glass and beat on the door. They couldn’t get in. It was sealed for their safety. I had to apply my own tourniquet and try not to pass out for eight minutes. While I lay there, waiting for the time-release, I could see the top of what used to be my leg poking out from between two thick slabs of steel, gently dripping blood to the floor. I felt sorry for it. My leg hadn’t asked for this. It had been a good leg. A faithful leg. And now look at it.

But in the weeks afterward, as I lay in my hospital bed, I came to see the bright side. I remembered that expression: A setback is just an opportunity in disguise. I decided that was true. Because while I was sad to lose my leg, now I could build a better one.

You can check out the site over here, where you can subscribe to the daily release….Do it!

Comments»

1. Deems - April 14, 2009

That sounds awesome – thanks – I’m definitely subscribing to that one!

2. Deems - April 14, 2009

Just read the first 20 pages … awesome stuff – I cannot wait for the next installment!

3. baldricman - April 14, 2009

Hehe, isn’t it? Unfortunately, there’s a good chance he’ll start charging for it in future, assuming it gets a good response… I think the price he mentioned was $6.95 (Aus dollars?) which, hey, might be fair?

Deems - April 14, 2009

After reading the preview’s to the first chapter of Company and Jennifer Government – I’m keen to use my Exclusive Books vouchers now to buy them. And if Machine Man gets published it’ll be on my “must buy” list.


Leave a Reply

