jump to navigation

Spectacular Meteor November 25, 2009

Posted by baldricman in astronomy, News, VOTD.
Tags: ,
trackback

Wow. It really takes a spectacular cosmic event to get me to blog….. Luckily for me, last Saturday, 21 Nov, there was a very bright meteor seen streaking across the skies of northern South Africa. I first was made aware of it by my brother Allen (who is “into all that stuff”), when he started trying to collect eyewitness accounts on Facebook. He had written

A spectacular Fireball over South Africa, visible from Gauteng, Limpopo, Mpumulanga lit up the sky like daylight for a few seconds on Saturday night. Anybody who saw this, please message me with details? We’re trying to gather as much information as possible. I need to know time, your location, and what you saw. If you saw the actual fireball then I’m especially interested!To learn more, check http://www.planetarium.co.za

Naturally, my curiosity was aroused. Friends started responding, and most recently Allen has pointed us to this site here, which gives several excellent descriptions of people’s experiences of the phenomenon. I highly recommend you check out that site, which is where I found this video, taken from a security camera in Midrand:

 

Comments»

1. Deems - November 25, 2009

Whoa! Seriously awesome – wish I’d been there to see that first hand – I wonder if there’s more footage?


Leave a Reply

