jump to navigation

The Urban Astronomer January 11, 2010

Posted by baldricman in astronomy, News.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The more observant among you may have noticed a very recent addition to my blogroll, of The Urban Astronomer, the recently birthed brainchild of Allen, my older brother.

For as long as I can remember, Allen has been passionate about everything in the night sky (except perhaps clouds), and his enthusiasm certainly rubbed off over his younger two brothers. But now, he finds himself in deepest, brightest suburbia, with little time for astronomy… But he says:

How to keep the passion alive in a suburban backyard, with no telescope, trees blotting out most of the sky, and bright security lights drowning out the stars?  Check my updates regularly and find out how I do it!

Now I know I may be biased, but I have to say, I’ve found the site and its articles very interesting, as well as quick and easy to read (perfect for at-your-desk browsing). It is one of the most consistent and engaging sites on the topic I have seen, and it is written in a manner that is completely non-threatening to the amateur or aspiring astronomer, no matter how “un-scientific” they may feel. And yet, (and this is my favourite part) you’ll be hard-pressed to find any bias, nor any irresponsible over-simplification and outdated information that most sites (and even a few books) are just too lazy to explain properly, verify, or update with new theories or research.

But seriously, take a look at it, bookmark it, whatever, if you’re even the least interested in science, astronomy, or the universe.

Comments»

1. Allen - January 11, 2010

Wow, sounds amazing! I’m going to visit that site right now!

Deems - January 12, 2010

Some interesting articles there Allen – my only suggestion would be to enable comments on your posts to encourage a healthy debate 🙂


Leave a Reply

