jump to navigation

POTD: Pie January 14, 2010

Posted by baldricman in General, POTD.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Wifey and I had 2 good friends over the other night for dinner. These friends are vegetarian, (whereas Wifey and I are not), but it meant we got to make something we’d never tried before. (When I say “we”, I mean 80% Wifey, 20% me)

So we made a Chickpea and Courgette Pie. It had some other stuff in it too (like a lot of Basmati rice, of all things), but the main point of interest was that it was made using phyllo (filo) pastry, in a spring-form pan. Anyway, the meal was a success, I thought, and it was great to try out something we wouldn’t ordinarily have eaten.

Here are one or two pics of the masterpiece, in the making:

Phyllo Pastry Preparation

Mmm, Filled with Filling!

Comments»

1. Deems - January 14, 2010

Wow, seriously impressive looking meal – well done!

2. baldricman - January 14, 2010

thanks Deems. I know everyone always says this, but it seriously was really quite easy. Phyllo was a little fiddly in some ways, but much better than anticipated.
And, everyone *also* always says this, but seriously, was very tasty indeed!

3. Cath - January 14, 2010

What a brilliant idea!
Can the phyllo pastry be bought? Must it be made from scratch like in the days of yore? Give us the recipe for the filling!

baldricman - January 14, 2010

hey Cath
Nah you can buy the pastry anywhere, ready rolled etc. I’ll get wifey to email you the recipe sometime 🙂
I can’t. That would be a bit naff.

4. Nicola - January 14, 2010

That pie looks lovely, care to share the recipe?

5. Joe Newbert - January 21, 2010

Impressed. That is a great effort to go to for veggies – most people kop out on us.

Ditto. Recipe please (hope it was spicy!).

6. baldricman - January 21, 2010

Oh alright, I’ll try remember to get the recipe to you lot tonight or tomorrow – I don’t have it here with me – it actually comes from a cookbook so I might just give the gist of it, rather than plagiarise it completely 🙂


Leave a Reply

